Yolanda’s Wrath in Guiuan

Before Yolanda hit Philippines , I have posted this in my Facebook account: “Sure ako lilikayan hit bagyo it Guiuan kay an driver hit bagyo- Guiuananon!” ( I am pretty sure Guiuan (Gee-won) will be spared from this upcoming typhoon knowing that its driver is a fellow Guiuananon).

This statement has just came into my mind not realizing how strong and dreadful Yolanda can be. I am confident that we can survive this because we are all used to typhoons- YES we have survived many typhoons! Guiuan, as an island facing the Pacific ocean, is a common path of typhoons. Thus, heavy rains, storm, surge, strong winds are just common scenarios. But not until Yolanda came.

Last November 8, 2013, Friday, the  Super Typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan)  first made her landfall in Guiuan – my hometown. Leaving the place in total ruins, great number of dead and injured. Reports said that 100 percent of structures in the town were all damaged and many families were displaced. The world record-breaking super typhoon isolated Guiuan Eastern Samar and other towns in Samar and Leyte provinces for days where communications were all down.

Hearing such horror, I burst out in  tears knowing my parents, titas and other relatives are there who might be killed and currently suffering from typhoon’s wrath. What added my agony is, I have 3 sisters and nephew and niece in Tacloban who was also severely damaged. Honestly, I prayed hard asking God for their safety. At the moment, I am totally disturbed and unfocused. I cant perform the works I am supposed to do. Thanks to my friends, colleagues who were there comforting and showing sympathy.

Days have passed yet  still no communication but news reports have been showing footage of casualties and destruction in the affected towns highlighting the tragic situation in Tacloban City. I felt terrified and started feeling hopeless. I was planning to go home and personally visit Guiuan but it seems that the whole urge decision was impractical considering the risk and there are still main roads not passable.  I stayed beside I cant just leave and dump my work. It will be much unfair to my company.

And it was only after 5 days, when I received a call from my sister informing me that the rest of my family members are safe in Tacloban. Praise GOD! The next day, I was informed that my parents are safe too but our house was not spared- just like the rest only the skeleton has survived.

guiuan
Aerial shots of Guiuan, Eastern Samar after typhoon ‘Yolanda’. Photo by AFP Central Command

The Bullshit Political Bickering

The most painful thing that could happen when calamity stroke is not just loosing someone we love and the assets and other investments destroyed. But the person who wished we are perished. I could not control my disgust to a “Bitch Politician&Epal (BPE)” who described the Province of Eastern Samar as GONE. I do not know what is his real intention of broadcasting this to the national news but for  sure, it for his own interest. God, if you can’t at least show sympathy please don’t use this disaster to uplift your image and to corrupt donations! We will rise with or with out your help. For the record, my father chose supporting him last May 2013 Election- an Ugly Truth 😦

17th Century Guiuan Church Ruined

If you are Guiuananon (locals of Guiuan)  you should be  proud that the Immaculate Concepcion Church  stood and firm since it was  built it in 17oo’s by the Franciscan. The Baroque style church shows the rich catholic faith history of the town. But today, the old building and image preserved for hundred of years was now gone. Yolanda took one of our prides and national treasure. I am regretful indeed but the typhoon only stole the physical tribute of my catholic life NOT  my entire faith.

church
Guiuan Church Before (Photo source: heritageconservation.wordpress.com)
church ruined
Guiuan Church Today (Photo source: http://www.theguardian.com)

Spirit of Guiuananon

The love for Guiuan is immeasurable. Yolanda might took what we have but not the courage and hope. We will rise. We will re-build the beauty of Guiuan- Bungto ta, Higugma-a ta! ###

Leave a Reply

